Arch Linux

Luke

edthedoc

So... after much difficulty, and tweaking, I've got as far as building and installing this alongside a runeaudio setup on arch linux on raspberry pi... now I get instructions that to run the server I need to use the systemd service.... but I have no idea how???

Can anyone help?

thefirstofthe300

Are you building from source or using the AUR package. If you didn't install via the AUR, you will need to use a custom systemd service. If you used the AUR package, sudo systemctl start mediabrowser-serverxshould work.

Edited by DaBungalow

edthedoc

I followed the instructions on the downloads page, although I had to make some minor changes. Your suggestion systemctl start mediabrowser-server worked!! How do I get it to automatically restart after a reboot? Sorry I'm a bit of a NOOB. Quite pleased I've got as far as the web interface!

thefirstofthe300

It sounds like you should probably do some reading on the Arch wiki about systemd.

In answer to your immediate question, sudo systemctl enable mediabrowser-server should cause MediaBrowser to launch at boot.

• Like 1

thefirstofthe300

No problem.

If you ever have trouble with Arch, be sue to check the wiki. Also, I would suggest that you read up on systemd on the wiki so that you understand how the Arch init system works (systemd is to Arch as services are to Windows). It will be a big help to you when you want to modify a service.

• Like 1

• 5 weeks later...
thefirstofthe300

I finally got around to fixing an issue that I had with a systemd check of the passwd and groups files failing. I managed to determine that problem seemed to be with the package I had built as it creates a separate user to run the server.

I would advise each of you that is using the Arch package to stop the server, delete the mediabrowser user (sudo userdel mediabrowser), and update to the latest version of whatever package you are using (stable or beta).