ffmpeg CPU Usage

matthewul

matthewul

Hi,

I'm running MB server on a Lenovo ThinkServer TS140 with a quad-core Xeon E3-1225 v3, with Windows Server 2012 R2 Standard.  I'm still a bit new with configuring the media server and clients, but I noticed that Task Manager shows ffmpeg using around 50% cpu when streaming a 720p DVD rip to my browser.  It jumps to 80-90% when streaming video taken with my home video HD camcorder in 1080p and gets choppy at times.  This is just testing 1 stream at a time, not concurrent streams.  Although I'd like a server that could handle probably a max of two 720p or 1080p concurrent streams to the local network devices such as Chromecast, Roku, SmartTV, etc.

Is this normal for the ffmpeg process to consume so much CPU?  I thought a new quad Xeon would be able to handle at least a couple streams without problems, but it doesn't seem like that is going to be the case.  I need to check some of the transcoding settings, but they should be the defaults.  

Should I try running MB server on Linux?  Or should I switch to a CPU that supports hyperthreading?  I thought I read somewhere that the ffmpeg process can only utilize up to 2 cores though.

Anyway, thanks for any suggestions.

**Edit** - So I'm testing 3 concurrent streams now: 1 DVD rip to browser, 1 home video to browser, and 1 home video to Android phone, and they're all pretty smooth.  ffmpeg process is staying around 13% for CPU utilization.  Maybe the process just spikes initially then settles down.  But I'm still open to any suggestions or tweaks I could do for this type of setup.  Thanks.

Edited by matthewul

JeremyFr79