Kodi -> ffmpeg and timeouts

Customschief

Customschief

Hey Guys,

i am new to Mediabrowser since 2 days now and i like it... 

i am also using Plex since 2 years now and befor that i was an xbmc-nerd, so you can talk to me in a semi-pro way ;-)

I have a problem with Mediabrowser and Kodi. When i play something local (@home) everything works fine (direct play without transcoding).

But when i am not at home (in this case @work), and i want to play a movie with kodi, the first time it works... but when i stop the movie and try to start another one, this doesn't work and i get an timeout error.

When i look at my server in this moment, i can see that the ffmpeg-process is between 80 and 99% and dont stops until i kill it manually.

When i play movies with the webplayer, i dont have this problem.

Some Ideas?

My Rig:

Windows Server 2012 R2 x64

Intel i5-4570 with 8 GB Ram

System is on SSD

Data on 12x 2 TB

Internetconnection: 100 Mbit down and 12 Mbit upload

Edited by Customschief

Angelblue05

I use Kodi to view content on my brother's server (remote). Have you tried adjusting the network speed from default (for example: 100 to 2mbps)? If you watch something of shorter length or lesser quality, does it still "crash"? The best thing for you to do is post a log, capturing the error. :)

Please refer to this guide, if you need help doing this: http://mediabrowser.tv/community/index.php?/topic/17599-how-to-report-a-problem/

• Like 1

Customschief

Thanks for your reply...

Yes, i tried limiting the quality and i tried forcing to transcode even on local lan... everytime the same. 

When the server has to transcode for Kodi, then i got that error. Transcoding for webplayer works.

I will post the log soon...

Customschief

So... i've got all the logfiles...

i tested it again, from a remote computer (in the office)...

1. starting movie 1 (no problem)

2. starting movie 2 (timeout and ffmpeg at 99% on the server till i kill it manually)