How to remote control MBT?

illinomad

illinomad
Hello,

Newbie here.

I currently have installed:

1. MB Server release v3.0.5518.7 (not the beta) on a W7 machine.

2. MBT 3.0.5531.26414 (claims to be up to date) on another W7 machine.

... I also have MB Classic installed on the same machine as MBT, and am facing different issues with that, but I'll look into that later on a more appropriate board.

The problem I am having is that I can't seem to remote control the MBT client.

In the Server interface, the MBT client shows up in the remote control Select Player list (see screen capture).

If I start playing a file directly within MBT (i.e., not using remote control), the Server's "now playing" screen does seem to show what's playing in MBT (again, see screen capture). 

54f5d58861eaf_MBS_RC_screen.png

However, I am not able to use *any* of the remote control actions via the Server to control what is happening in MBT.

I have tried all the "now playing" buttons and those shown in the "controls" tab. 

I did not try the "advanced" options.

I seem to be able to remote control MB-Classic without any obvious issues (as mentioned, it's on the same computer as MBT).

All computers on my LAN can see one another. I don't have any problems accessing my library from the MBT client. When I installed MBS, I made sure to create a firewall exception to allow MBS to communicate with other programs on my private network.

My question is: what do I need to do in order to be able to remote control my MBT client? 

Thanks a lot for your time.

P.S. I tried to attach a log for the Server but the forum is telling me the file was too big (~12MB). Probably hours of irrelevant logging on there. Let me know if you need me to re-create the problem and try again with the log.

Xzener