Archive - Samsung Smart TV App - Public Alpha Test

chessdragon136

chessdragon136

Recognition

Before I get into all the details I just wanted to say thanks to the following people who have been instrumental in the app so far in terms of support and technical knowledge:

@@Tikuf @@CBers @@Luke @@AdrianW @@DaN @@Rowlett @@7illusions @@Cheesegeezer

Need to Know Information before Use

This is an alpha version of the program I have been developing for the last 4 months or so. As such do not expect much to work, expect crashes, and expect many bugs.. I have tested this myself an believe it to be stable but I can only test so much.

There are also many things not implemented / supported!

Requirements:

A Samsung TV / DVD / Bluray Player (Anything which has Samsung's Smart Hub) 

Supported Devices - TV's / Samsung Smart Devices with Smart Hub D series (2011) and up (C Series WILL CRASH the TV

Install procedure

On the Samsung device load up the Smart Hub and press red to login, and login with the details "develop", password "000000" -> Once logged in, press the blue button and there should be a developer menu. In there select "Setting Server IP" and it will ask for an IP address, enter the IP 92.232.122.228 Once that's done select "User Application Synchronisation" and hopefully it will connect and download my app to the tv. If the above doesnt work, try the below (Thanks AdrianW)

The setup on my TV (F-series plasma) was slightly different - here's the steps:

• Open the main menu and scroll down to "Smart Features" and press enter
  • Select "Samsung Account"
  • Select "Log In"
  • In the Email field enter "develop" - no need to enter a password (the password field is inaccessible)
  • Press Login
  • Exit from the menu
  • Press the Smart Hub button on the remote and scroll to Apps
  • Select "More Apps" (at the bottom of the screen)
  • Select "Options" at the top right
  • Select "IP Setting"
  • Enter the IP address