MBC crashes while playing 1 movie file

legallink
Go to solution Solved by legallink,

legallink

but does fine with the rest of the files from the same collection/box set.

I've got server logs.  The mediabrowser server web interface plays the movie fine, as does vlc, as does mediabrowser theater.  I'm not very good at reading the server logs, as I have no idea what I am looking for, but I have attached one.  The original is not attached as it was too big, so I shrunk and deleted all the information prior to me attempting to play the file.

It appears that an FFMPEG session opens, which I'm not sure why it does....I am using MBC on the same machine that the server is located on.

If you need more info, let me know.

Thanks again!

transcode-7670d92f-09c1-47e6-ba97-5357906df2ba.txt

server-63541493752 - mini.txt

Please define "crashes" and also see the How to report a problem post - specifically in the area of what to provide if MBC crashes.  An MBC log would be helpful as well.

If the server is transcoding it is likely a configuration problem - but the client shouldn't "crash" in any instance. 

legallink

Sorry ebr.  I'll try and make it a littel clearer.

By crashing, I mean a total client crash.  When I press play on the file, it brings up the player, then nothing happens, then at some point it switches to the normal WMC player, and if I try to fast forward, rewind, whatever, it then closes and goes back to the desktop, and then reboots WMC to the WMC home screen.

At the end, it shows "Windows Media Center has stopped working"

MBC log attached.

MBC version 3.0.195.0 7-14.1

Server version: Version 3.0.5309.26857

MBClassic-21720149bc301a9e7e94763ba6b6627f963edb8.log

Is there an error in the Windows Event Log?

Sounds like WMC itself is crashing which likely means it is either a codec or graphics card issue.  What is different about this movie from a technical details standpoint?

legallink